Thoughts on Unholy Bonds: A response to one reader’s passing comment…

unholybonds333x5002ndversionFirst, I want to reiterate my gratitude to the many people who’ve chosen to spend a few dollars and a few hours reading my books. Thank you! By reading what I have written, you bring the book to life, completing it in a way that the author never can. What a rich blessing, hopefully for both author and reader!

A friend made a comment in passing the other day when telling me she had finished Hijacked. “I love Lannis, and I want to read Unholy Bonds, but I don’t want to see her get hurt anymore.”

May I reassure you?

Lannis and Ben earned their happy ending in Hijacked. When I finished writing that book, I wondered what to write next. It was my first novel, and like many authors, I wasn’t at all sure I had another novel in me. About three weeks into the “what do I write next” phase (and when I was beginning to sweat, because I had no ideas!), the answer blazed its way into my mind.

Lannis had more work to do. So did Ben. Like all couples, they needed to adjust to married life, but had the added complication of her past with which to contend. And they both had unresolved issues, areas where personal growth was critical to their future success, both as individuals and as a couple. I wanted them to have the opportunity to do this important work.

And then there was Robert Davis.

How was I going to address the perpetrator of an all-to-common crime that damages countless women? His choice and resultant action ended up binding the three in invisible chains. Hence the title, Unholy Bonds. That became my focus as I wrote.

Because I have been long fascinated with stories of reconciliation and the movement called Restorative Justice, I wondered if this could be a direction for the book. Again, I had no idea if I could pull it off. Just the structure of such a novel was pushing the envelope of my skills.

The story quickly became more important than my limitations, so I persevered.

Back to my reassurance: Lannis struggles in this book. I won’t lie. No one grows without it. Sometimes it’s hard, and she suffers. But she doesn’t get hurt, and the result is worth it.

You have my  word.

So if you’ve hesitated to read Unholy Bonds because you’re worried about Lannis, take heart. Give it a try. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

About Leslie Lynch

Leslie gives voice to characters who struggle to find healing for their brokenness – and discover unconventional solutions to life’s twists. Her work includes novels Hijacked, Unholy Bonds, and Opal's Jubilee, and novellas Christmas Hope and Christmas Grace. A graduate of Spalding University's low-residency MFA program, she is an occasional contributor to the Archdiocese of Indianapolis’s weekly paper, The Criterion, and can be found on facebook at Leslie Lynch Writes, as well as Twitter @Leslie_Lynch_
This entry was posted in Appalchian Foothills series, Creative Process, gratitude, Hijacked, Leslie Lynch, Unholy Bonds, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment