Second Watch, by J.A. Jance

jajanceI picked up a copy of J.A. Jance’s book, Second Watch, the other day – and knew I was in for a good read. She’s dependable that way! But I had no idea how the story would impact me emotionally.

Woven into the (excellent, as usual) mystery was Viet Nam.

I was a little too young to be fully impacted, but as so many of that era, the conflict – both overseas and at home – left an indelible scar.

Second Watch resurrected my memories, which are nowhere near as traumatic as those many bear. Yet, I wept. For those lost, for those who do bear the harsh memories, and for those who still have unfinished business.

I didn’t realize how deep the unfinished business was for me. It’s “in” to blog/tweet/facebook, etc., about the rawness of such, but I won’t do that. Suffice it to say, it’s raw.

I will say, though, read this book if you lived through the Viet Nam era. Read this book if you have lived through the Iraq and Afghanistan era. Read this book if you have been touched by war, even if you’ve never been to war.

Second Watch brought me face to face with one of the few regrets I have about my life; thanks to Jance’s writing I will seek healing around that issue.

Thank you, J.A. Jance, for the work of your heart, and thank you, Bonnie Abney, for your selflessness in sharing the story of Leonard Douglas Davis, one man lost in Viet Nam.

Peace.

About Leslie Lynch

Leslie gives voice to characters who struggle to find healing for their brokenness – and discover unconventional solutions to life’s twists. Her work includes novels Hijacked, Unholy Bonds, and Opal's Jubilee, and novellas Christmas Hope and Christmas Grace. A graduate of Spalding University's low-residency MFA program, she is an occasional contributor to the Archdiocese of Indianapolis’s weekly paper, The Criterion, and can be found on facebook at Leslie Lynch Writes, as well as Twitter @Leslie_Lynch_
This entry was posted in Creative Process, gratitude, Leslie Lynch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment