Writers Masquerading as Artists!

I’m taking a quick break from the interview series with the other seven finalists in my category of the Golden Heart® contest to highlight a really fun field trip my local writing group took today! Louisville Romance Writers descended upon Uptown Art Uncorked on Bardstown Road in the Highlands neighborhood of Louisville this morning.

IMG_0102Assignment: Paint the Funky Vase with Flowers. Ten writers trying their hand at a new (for most of us) artistic endeavor. Laura of Uptown Art guided us through the process. She did a fantastic job of calming the nervous among us and laughing off requests for rulers.

My biggest challenge was…sigh…telling my perfectionist inner self to take a hike, so my inner child could come out and play. No surprise there! But I managed to silence the inner critic and had a blast. (Okay, the glass of pinot grigio helped.)

The biggest lesson of the day didn’t lie in which paint brush to use. It lay in recognizing how, with the same instructions and the same resources, our paintings turned out to be perfect reflections of our individuality.

And for me, the parallels of my creative process in painting and writing provided a huge boost of confidence. A little more than halfway through the painting, I thought “This is a disaster!” – just like I do when I’m writing a book. Yet setting my resolve to finish what I started netted a wonderful finished product! Lesson: Trust my process.

The picture at the beginning of this post is my version of the Funky Vase with Flowers. And here, at the end, is the entire group. Notice – and celebrate! – the wonderful variations on the theme. LRW at Uptown Art Uncorked

I think this field trip was a smashing success, and a great way to jumpstart our creativity! Thanks, Laura at Uptown Art Uncorked, for an excursion out of our ordinary days!

About Leslie Lynch

Leslie gives voice to characters who struggle to find healing for their brokenness – and discover unconventional solutions to life’s unexpected twists. Her manuscript, Hijacked, is a finalist in the Romance Writers of America® 2013 Golden Heart® contest. She is an occasional contributor to the Archdiocese of Indianapolis’s weekly paper, The Criterion, and can be found on facebook at Leslie Lynch Writes, as well as Twitter @Leslie_Lynch_
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Creativity, gratitude, Leslie Lynch, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writers Masquerading as Artists!

  1. Nancy Ward says:

    What fun! And valuable lessons. I should try the Pinot when my creativeness is a disaster!

  2. Don Mulcare says:

    Hi Leslie,

    The flowers look like Poppies or maybe Lollypoppies.

    The background has tremendous depth.

    At first I thought the vase had black and white stripes like the traditional inmate’s uniform, a subtle indication of the pent up artistic talent yearning for release.

    The wavy green lines on the black stripes could represent writing: an element from the comfort zone.

    It looks like most of the artists went for the red flowers. The writer next to you seems to have incorporated a face into the design.

    Glad you had fun!

    Thanks for sharing, especially the part about your discomfort. I always see you as having it all together.

    God Bless,

    Don

    • Leslie Lynch says:

      Lollypoppies. I LOVE it!!! 🙂 I hate to break it to you, Don, but no, I don’t ‘have it all together’! Glad you stopped by. And I love your analysis. Made me smile out loud.

      Blessings,
      Leslie

      • Don Mulcare says:

        There’s your formal photo (above) that looks so professional, and then there’s your informal (let your hair down) photo. The formal Leslie gives sound advice. The informal Leslie provides inspiration. Thanks for both.

        God Bless,

        Don

  3. Leslie Lynch says:

    Don, you made me feel warm all over. 🙂 Thank you for your kind words and generous spirit!

    Blessings,
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

