Hijacked is a GoldenHeart® Finalist!!!

http://mrg.bz/bkSLFII meant to get back here and blog on my progress through the March Monkey Madness Writing Challenge from my last post. But I was so busy trying to get words down I didn’t want to take time to blog. Yes! I was motivated. I was doing a great job! Getting lots of words!

Then I faltered. Kept getting back up and giving it my best effort, yet kept falling further behind.

So I had planned on a final blog about how many new words I typed during March (14,162 – which was 10,838 words short of my goal). And I was going to talk about how sometimes we don’t quite achieve what we set out to do, but noting how much I had accomplished. Yada, yada, yada. All true, all good.

Then the phone rang yesterday morning, and I got the call I had yearned for over the years but never quite expected: My manuscript, Hijacked, is a finalist in the RWA® 2013 Golden Heart® contest. This contest recognizes excellence in romance writing, and draws entries from around the world. I am extraordinarily honored to be part of this talented group of writers – and I am one of many who have entered the Golden Heart multiple times, always hoping, always reaching for the stars.

(That was the mature, calm me relaying the facts in a news anchor voice. The following is how I really feel – still – thirty-six hours later.)

OH. MY. GOSH!!!!! Squeeeeeee!!! (Visualize goofy grins, random and unpredictable bouts of jumping up and down accompanied by “I can’t believe it!!!” and otherwise bizarre behavior.)

I can tell you right now that my grand plans of knocking out a couple thousand more words on my current work ain’t gonna happen. I am quite happily distracted, and fielding an incredible outpouring of well-wishes from friends and family. For all of those, I am immensely grateful and humbled. Thank you.

I will also say that in honor of my critique partner, Angie Ballard, whose blog is titled The Jammie Girl, I took my Golden Heart phone call in my jammies. No, I didn’t plan it that way, but that’s how it happened. At least I wasn’t naked in the tub or scooping dog poop when the call came, like it happened for a couple of other authors!

But the most important part of my day, in spite of all that excitement, came right before The Call. I had posted a reflection on Holy Week at the Catholic Writers Guild blog, and was replying to a lovely and touching comment by Nancy Ward. Her kind words helped keep me grounded all day in a way that no other means could have. And Don Mulcare’s response to the same reflection today had the same effect.

I am reminded (again) that no one knows what effect their words are going to have on those around them.

May mine always be a blessing.

(Squeeee!!!)

About Leslie Lynch

Leslie gives voice to characters who struggle to find healing for their brokenness – and discover unconventional solutions to life’s unexpected twists. Her manuscript, Hijacked, is a finalist in the Romance Writers of America® 2013 Golden Heart® contest. She is an occasional contributor to the Archdiocese of Indianapolis’s weekly paper, The Criterion, and can be found on facebook at Leslie Lynch Writes, as well as Twitter @Leslie_Lynch_
This entry was posted in Leslie Lynch, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hijacked is a GoldenHeart® Finalist!!!

  1. Nancy Ward says:

    Congrats! And you are so welcome for the “grounding,” The Holy Spirit is the one who encourages all of us through each other. I am usually surprised at what comes from me. That’s how I know it’s not really me, but the Holy Spirit using my way of speaking and writing to get his message heard.

  2. Heidi Howard says:

    Beautifully spoken…so happy that your work has been validated by your peers. To quote a famous actress, “You love me, you really love me!”

  3. Don Mulcare says:

    Leslie,

    What a wonderful Easter Present!

    Be sure that many share your joy. It’s warmth becomes personal to your many admirers..

    Lots of good things happen while we are in our pajamas. I’m also glad you weren’t cleaning up after the dog..

    Now get back to work.

    God Bless,

    Don

    • Leslie Lynch says:

      Yes, it IS a wonderful Easter present, Don! And I’m glad it happened during this season, when the liturgy is so rich and consuming; what a wonderful way to keep life in perspective.
      Thanks for stopping in, Don. Your encouraging voice comes through loud and clear. 🙂
      Now. Back to work!

  4. Pingback: Leslie Lynch Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Finalist + And Other VP News | The Catholic Writers Guild

Leave a Reply

